12 posts in this topic

hello there,
I've been playing this game since 2008, so I feel I got a right to moan about a few things that bug me about the game engine, especially regarding match reports.

1. Goalkeeper grades
These often make no sense. There are GK's who get a grade of 8, 9 or even a 10 when having lost a game, even swallowing several goals. Whereas GK's who have kept a clean sheet (thus making a few saves) would get a measily 5 or 6. This especially happens in games against unmanaged teams, where the GK of the unmanaged team will almost always outscore your GK by a big grade difference, even if your team has been the unmanaged team by say, 3-0.
Because of that, I feel that the grading of GK's works by weird criteria.  Ofcourse I can understand that in some games a less good team might lose 3-0 or more against a better team, but their GK having made a lot of saves to prevent worse. Yes, in such cases a grade of 7 or 8 could be realistic, but never more. Also GK's who keep a clean sheet do not always get rewarded for that. Them having kept a clean sheet could either mean they made some saves, or they had an uneventful match, their defence clearing all danger. Still, a clean sheet should always give a grade of 7. From there you could add further grades to the amount of saves they made > an 8 for 3-5 saves, a 9 for 5-8 saves, and a 10 for +8 saves. Any GK who swallows a goal, can never get a 10, ofcourse.

2. Man of the Match