Sign in to follow this  
KBoyd1984

Major League Soccer Risers --2015

This is my first attempt at doing a ratings thread, but here it is.

First, a little bit about Major League Soccer. It is the top flight soccer league in the U.S. and Canada and has 20 teams in it this year. The quality of play isn't as good as the more established European leagues and it probably even isn't as good as emerging nations such as Japan and Mexico. However, it is the league that is producing some of the new young talent in the U.S. and is starting to get global attention.

The league started up in early March and will run until about December or so when the MLS Cup Final is played. All in all, 12 teams will make the MLS Cup playoffs.

A unique to MLS rule is a soft salary cap of $3M or so; although teams can sign up to 3 Designated Players who don't against it and "homegrown" players and Generation Adidas players don't count against it as well. Generation Adidas is a MLS and US Soccer program to encourage young prospects to either leave college soccer early or skip it altogether and enter the MLS Superdraft.

Instead of focusing on every single player, I will focus on risers. Although the ratings cap is 85, there are lots of bargains to be had for either squad players or teams looking for promotion in lower leagues.

Re: Major League Soccer Risers --2015

I'm doing these a team at a time. The format is name, age, position, current rating and then projected rating.

Chicago Fire

Chicago-Fire-Logo.jpg

This is easily the worst team in MLS, but there are decent players to be had.

Joevin Jones, 23, D,DM,M(L) 77 ------> 79

Matt Polster, 21, D,DM© 70 ---------> 75

Harry Shipp, 23, AM (RLC) 78---------> 78

Michael Stephens, 25, M(RLC) 78-----> 79