Sign in to follow this  
Hesse

How to be a "Good Manager"?

I have noticed after my first ten weeks on the forums that there seems to be a lot of kudos given to "Good Managers" in SM, especially when people look to start up their own setups.

The question is; "What makes a good SM Manager?". The answer of course is it is down to the beholder.

So what I have decided to do, to see if I can be regarded as a "Good Manager" is take over a team in a World Championship that I regard as having been "mismanaged", and over as a period of time, drag them kicking and screaming to their rightful place; challenging for major honours.

I will use this thread to report how I go about this, each step of the way, and I will let you decide if I am a good manager. If nothing else it might give new players a chance to see how it can be done, and then make their own way in the game rather then caving to rely on the forums more experienced members to effectively manage their teams, by giving them constant advice on who to buy, where to play them etc. So here we go.....

I have chosen Arsenal currently languishing midtable in Division 2 of a well established and what appears to be a very competitive World Championship. I will not reveal at this stage which one, and would ask you not to guess as this may tarnish the results of my "experiment"; all will be revealed in due course.

To be more precise, they are in fact 13th with 17 points from 13 games, 8 points off of the top. And here is the squad I have to work with at the moment: (if somebody can tell me how to insert proper screenshots I would be really appreciative!):o

Info Nat Player Pos Age Rt Con Morale SM Val Chair Val

BUFFON, Gianluigi G 29 96 97 Superb £9.2M £25.8M

POUPLIN, Simon G 22 88 100 Poor £6.4M £4.5M

COLE, Ashley LB 27 93 41 Superb £8.5M £18.8M

LAHM, Philipp LB/RB 24 93 39 Superb £9.7M £27.0M

CAMPBELL, Sol CB 33 91 100 Superb £3.5M £4.5M

WOODGATE, Jonathan CB 27 91 100 Average £7.1M £11.1M