Sign in to follow this  
-kepta - King of Grime.

Another new arrival on SM!

Hi guys,

I am new to soccer manager (well kind of - joined in Jan 09' but never joined the forum until I was flicking through some of your articles/guides and thought it was high time I joined the debate on the game we love). ;)

I am competing in an MLS league 6th/14 at present. I ve been enjoying the season, although I feel in some ways the odds of my club Real Salt Lake City winning major trophies are limited as I have tried to keep my signings relatively realistic compared to some of my big spending rivals.

For instance I have made 5 signings this season (all free agents): Dave Challinor (real club - Colwyn Bay, Wales), Jo Tessem (free-agent), Paul Peschisolido (assistant manager at club in Ireland), A.De Zeeuw (amateur club, Netherlands), Ronny gaspercic (free-agent).

Compare this to some of the 'galactico's' who have joined the MLS in the last 2 months - Crespo, Del Piero, Nedved, Maldini, Inzaghi, Palermo, Solari, Van Der Sar, Roberto Carlos, Giggs, Scholes, Hyypia, James - these would be tolerable as some of them might join MLS for one last 'Beckham-esque pay-off'. However younger players just would not join - Tim Cahill in the MLS? It just wouldn't happen. When I saw Mario Balotelli had signed from Inter Milan I thought my club are competing in a different game to some of my rivals. :rolleyes:

I am really enjoying the game but feel something needs to be done to make the transfer system more realistic. Players won't just join the MLS on mass from Europe and there must be a way of solving this issue. I understand everyone plays the game differently and people probably get a lot of pleasure seeing Julio Cruz at New York or whatever but I am waiting for the day when I face Lionel Messi/C.Ronaldo at the Rio Tinto Stadium because I suspect it may not be far off. :(